[toggle title=”What are the First Steps in Filing for a Divorce?”] The first step for many is sitting down and talking with an attorney. There a many things to consider and it is important that you proceed with what is the best for your situation. For the actual filing for divorce, the first step is to file a document with the court, called Petition and Summons. If you are represented by an attorney, he/she will file these for you. If you are filing by yourself, you will need go to the court house to file for divorce. [/toggle]
[toggle title=”How Long Does it Take to Get a Divorce in Colorado?”] It depends on multiple factors such as whether both parties agree and the divorce is amicable, if children are involved, how much conflict surrounds your divorce, which county your case is in along with other factors. The minimum amount of time to obtain a degree of Dissolution of Marriage is 91 days, from the date of filing of the divorce. It could take much longer, from 3 months to 9 months or more, especially in more complex divorce situations. [/toggle]
[toggle title=”Do I have to Wait to File When My Spouse Doesn’t Agree to Divorce?”] No. Colorado is a no fault divorce state, which means that you don’t have to wait for your spouse to want a divorce before you can file for one. [/toggle]
[toggle title=”What are the Requirements to File For Divorce in Colorado?”] The only condition that must be met is that you must have lived in Colorado for 90 days before filing. This applies even if your spouse lives out of state. [/toggle]
For additional information visit Divorce in Colorado page.
You may also be interested in:
The FAQs of Divorce are for informational purposes only, and should not be considered a “tutorial” on how to file for your own divorce. Every divorce, even amicable ones, has legal nuances that only an attorney can understand. If you’re getting a divorce, you need a Denver divorce attorney who knows the divorce procedure and the details of the law.
The content of this page is for general informational purposes only, and should not be considered advice in your case. If you’re getting a divorce, you need a Denver divorce attorney who knows the intricacies of divorce in Colorado and the details of the law.
Call for a FREE consultation 720-500-7778. All inquiries are strictly confidential.