Colorado’s no-fault divorce laws allow couples to get a divorce by simply citing irretrievable breakdown of the marriage.
In other words, you do not have to prove fault, and do not have to exhibit evidence of a spouse’s adultery, cruelty or other behavior in order to obtain a divorce. Merely stating that your marriage is irretrievably broken down, and cannot be salvaged, is enough grounds to get a divorce.
However, the law does require that at least one if you have been a resident of the state of Colorado for a period of at least 90 days before filing for divorce. Also, the law requires a minimum waiting period of 90 days before granting a divorce. That means that even if you have a non-contested divorce, in which the two of you agree on all aspects related to the divorce like child support, child custody, alimony, and division of assets, you will still have to wait for the mandatory 90- day waiting period, before you get the divorce.
If you do not agree on all issues, the divorce will often take longer to become finalized. A contested divorce, in which the two of you disagree on certain aspects related to the divorce, may take as much as between six months to a year. If there are no disagreements, however, you may get the divorce within 3 to 4 months.
Many disagreements in a divorce center on the finances, including the division of assets, child support, and alimony. The financial situation of the spouses involved, income levels, earning capacity, and other factors are considered before these matters are settled. To protect your interests during a divorce, get advice from a Colorado divorce lawyer.